Shellac and a Short Cut

Dr. Phil always asks his guests, “How’s that working for you?” Well, if he asked me about my nail and hair care regimen. I would say “Shellac and a short haircut works for me.”

photoIt is the original and only Power Polish service, empowering you the real woman, with 14+ days of superior color, no matter what life brings you. Set it and forget it. Practical and fearless. Improve your nails with an armor coat that says, “See you in 2 weeks”.

Source: http://www.cnd.com/salon-services/what-is-shellac

POW!!! That’s just what the doctor ordered!

I remember when I used to visit the nail salon on a weekly basis so that I could keep a fresh American Manicure. The American Manicure was consistently my choice because it was very versatile and natural looking. The French Manicure seemed to be too pink and bright for my dark skin. So, the French Manicure’s cousin—the American Manicure–was the perfect choice for me. This was “my signature look” of the times.

My desire to have nice looking nails has not altered over the years, but I no longer have time for that. I needed a nail solution, and I found it in products like OPI Gel Color and Shellac. I was introduced to these products in 2010. I tried it with much skepticism, but now…I might as well coin a new phrase: Once you go Shellac, you’ll never go back!

Now, I visit the nail salon once every 2-3 weeks. Different from ‘back in the days’, I have put one foot on the “wild side” though by getting color on my nails. Although, my nail tech (in conjunction with my daughters) often gives me a nudge to try different colors other than my favorite colors– “Lincoln Park after Dark”, “Pompeii Purple”, and “Hot Pop Pink”. Sometimes I am open, but the majority of the time my thoughts and response are something along the lines of – I like what I like so why do I have to change? At any rate, I love the fact that there is no dry time (which also means no smudging) and that my nail color does not chip in its 2-3 week tenure. It was important for me to find and stick with a nail tech that soaks off the color when it is time to remove it rather than file off. Before I got this part right, some nail techs used to file the color off, and I found that it made my nails thin and break easily.

I have a similar attraction to a short haircut.

Over the years, I have settled into a short cut preference; it works for me and my lifestyle. In fact, it deserves a description similar to Shellac: It empowers the real woman, with low-maintenance style, no matter what life brings. Set it and forget it. Practical and fearless. Improve your hair with a cut and style that says, “See you in 2 weeks”.

Above all, the best part about being a woman…I have the prerogative to change at any time, but for now…it works!

Find what works, and work it!

7 thoughts on “Shellac and a Short Cut

  1. I haven’t tried a shellac manicure yet, but I plan to do one VERY soon. My Sis-in-Law raves about them and I can hardly wait to try one! I’m all for working smarter and not harder – and doing what WORKS!

  2. I haven’t had a shellac manicure yet and I can hardly wait to try it – I plan to get one this week (along with a MUCH NEEDED pedicure). My sister-in-law raves about shellac manis. I’m all for working smarter, not harder – and sticking to what WORKS!

  3. Good day I am so happy I found your site, I really found you by accident,
    while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a
    marvelous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time
    to go through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please
    do keep up the awesome work.

What are your thoughts?

