30’s are the new 20’s (NOT!)

keep-calm-30-is-the-new-20…don’t believe the hype! Thirty-something is just that.

Actually, I might be okay with the ‘50 is the new 40’ deal, but ‘30 is the new 20’ is flat out erroneous. The differences between the two are significant.

Let me share my top 10 reasons, along with famous quotes to back me up:

1) I rarely get carded anymore! When I do, it’s usually just an ‘icebreaker’.

“When you’re a teenager, all you want to do is buy beer. But once you hit 30 all you want to do is to get carded.” -Sarah Jessica Parker as Carrie Bradshaw in Sex and the City

2) I used to be able to eat what I want, and not gain an ounce!

“After 30, a body has a mind of its own. -Bette Midler

3) I often advise my kids that there are starving kids in Africa who would give anything to have

 those brussel sprouts!

“When you turn thirty, a whole new thing happens: you see yourself acting like your parents.” Blair Sabol

4) I can do without the number candles on my birthday cake.

“Thirty five is a very attractive age; London society is full of women who have of their own free choice remained thirty-five for years.” – Oscar Wilde

5) I have gained just enough life experiences of my own to start passing “wisdom”.

“Not until my middle thirties did I consider myself a novelist.” – Rita Mae Brown

6) I am who I am…no apologies.

“Women do well in their thirties. They put their bags down and say, ‘This is who I am – like it or lump it.’ There is a more relaxed quality, which I like.” -Kelly Reilly

7) I appreciate being home; and not to mention, going to bed at a decent hour!

“My girlfriend Siri is a food blogger, and we both love to entertain and eat. This is what happens when you’re in your thirties: what was once a passion and real appetite for nightlife in New York City manifests itself into other things, like entertaining at home.” -Carson Daly

8) I shop for classic pieces that I can mix-and-match into my existing wardrobe and/or with trendier

accessories.

“The Thirties are a great mix of everyday glamour and something a bit more practical.” – Nanette Lepore

9) I can finally apply for those positions that require 10+ years of experience.

“I like getting older. When you’re in your twenties you’re really forging for your future. Things take shape later on.” – Crispin Glover

10) I value the quality over quantity of friendships; and I enjoy the simple things, like moments

with family/friends.

“Start your twenties with a lot of friends and leave with a few good ones. What happened? People faded away into their careers and relationships. Fights were had and never resolved. XXXX happens.” – Ryan O’Connell

Age provides perspective. 30s are not the new 20s…however, both offer valuable experiences to savor. The biggest difference is that in your 30s you have a better sense of who you are and what you’re willing to accept in your personal and professional life. That only comes with age.

Life is a journey…enjoy!

What are your thoughts?

